2016

Eddie the Eagle

85/100
It's essentially a Cool Runnings version of my favourite movie Rudy. Sometimes things like that will make me want to yell "It's a Rip Off!!!!!!!!!" from atop the nearest building, but Taron Egerton does such a great job as the titular character that I can't help but love it.
Reviewed on December 31, 2016

The Nice Guys

58/100
Unbelievable, but not in a good way. You'd be much better off just watching The Big Lebowski again, than it's ripoff.
Reviewed on July 12, 2016

The Hunt For The Wilderpeople

77/100
This little Kiwi dramedy is a bit unrealistic, but funny. It's like a comedy version of The Revenant.
Reviewed on July 12, 2016

Mustang

75/100
It's like a new Turkish version of The Virgin Suicides. Not as dark and arty though, so I liked this one much better.
Reviewed on July 12, 2016

Embrace of the Serpent

71/100
Long, slow, foreign, b+w. Film lovers will love it, movie lovers probably not. I'm somewhere in the middle.
Reviewed on August 1, 2016

Swiss Army Man

76/100
Like deleted scenes from the Wilson section of Castaway, cut for being too crazy. It won me over with its weirdness.
Reviewed on July 25, 2016

Sing Street

85/100
Like The Commitments done by the band from School of Rock without Jack Black. Great soundtrack and a pleasure to watch.
Reviewed on July 25, 2016

Love & Friendship

70/100
Too dark in the cinema for a dictionary, so a lot of the jokes went over my head. My brain hurts, but it's good.
Reviewed on July 25, 2016

The Conjuring 2

73/100
Horror sequels are often just a waste of time, but this one is pretty good. Not overly scary, but really well made.
Reviewed on July 14, 2016

The Red Turtle

56/100
Might've been ok as a short movie, but I had too much time to be frustrated by key plot points and lack of dialogue.
Reviewed on September 26, 2016

Don't Breathe

76/100
If the bad guy from Wolf Creek had've played the Jodie Foster role in Panic Room and somehow it was really good.
Reviewed on September 19, 2016

Sully

74/100
It's solid, low-key and admirable, just like the man it depicts. It has sullied my ideas of flying to Melbourne this weekend.
Reviewed on September 19, 2016

Captain Fantastic

75/100
A bit like Brett Kirk as a captain. Alternative in his philosophies, but always led with his heart and delivered.
Reviewed on September 19, 2016

Tickled

80/100
Great doco where low-key, sarcastic Kiwi humour works so well up against the seedy world of competitive endurance tickling.
Reviewed on August 29, 2016

Arrival

74/100
Like an updated version of Contact, but very slow and deliberate. Saved itself with a better 2nd half. Watch Signs instead.
Reviewed on November 15, 2016

Hell or High Water

77/100
Like Justified if Raylan was on the other side of the law. Or No Country for Old Men crossed with Idiot Box.
Reviewed on November 14, 2016

The Girl on the Train

58/100
Haven't read the book and certainly won't now. For all the attention I paid, I felt short-changed in the end.
Reviewed on October 13, 2016

Kubo and the Two Strings

79/100
Super impressive, like a darker version of Kung Fu Panda. Made me wish I had've learnt guitar origami.
Reviewed on September 27, 2016

Girl Asleep

68/100
The funny ha ha of the lovely and quirky 1st half is far too outweighed by the funny strange of the underdone 2nd half.
Reviewed on September 26, 2016

Nocturnal Animals

69/100
If the book from the Never Ending Story was set in Wolf Creek. They should've cut out the start, not the ending.
Reviewed on November 15, 2016

The Founder

75/100
Interesting story, really well told. First time through it's worth watching, might lack rewatchability though.
Reviewed on November 28, 2016

I, Daniel Blake

74/100
The opposite of "It's funny because it's true." Instead it's too true to be funny. Good movie, but hard to enjoy.
Reviewed on November 28, 2016

Hacksaw Ridge

84/100
If it wasn't based on a true story you mightn't believe it. War parts are almost too good for how tender the rest is.
Reviewed on November 21, 2016

Doctor Strange

73/100
A pompous Neo running around in Inception. The stunning visuals outshine the story, so see it in 3D if you can.
Reviewed on November 15, 2016

Edge of Seventeen

75/100
Like a less comedic version of an all Lindsey episode of Freaks and Geeks. I don't think I'm the target audience.
Reviewed on December 24, 2016

La La Land

74/100
If you like old time musicals, you'll love it. I found myself wanting to watch Whiplash or Blue Valentine again instead.
Reviewed on December 22, 2016

Rogue One

74/100
Ever wondered why the death star was so easy to blow up? Or what the mission to Endor would've looked like without Ewoks?
Reviewed on December 15, 2016

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them

62/100
Looked pretty, felt pretty boring. So slow and overly dramatic I had trouble staying awake.
Reviewed on December 13, 2016

Your Name

73/100
Nice little Japanimation romance/sci-fi. Seemed long, even when they fast-forwarded through the bits I found interesting.
Reviewed on November 29, 2016